Sandhurst 2012
Cadets competed in the 2012 Sandhurst Competition, April 20-21, sponsored by the West Point Department of Military Instruction. Sandhurst is a two-day military training course at Camp Buckner at the United States Military Academy in West Point, N.Y. The Sandhurst Military Skills Competition has run in various configurations since 1967. At its core, SANCOM is an inter-company competition for USMA. Each USMA Cadet Company and Visiting Team selects a 9-member Squad (at least one member must be female) with two alternates. This squad is required to perform a series of challenging military tasks during a rapid, non-tactical move along a partly-prescribed 8.2 mile route.

The first award of the evening was presented by the deputy president of the People’s Liberation Army University of Science and Technology. The navigation streamer was presented to the team with the best performance in the land navigation course. The 2012 recipient was the Royal Military Academy Sandhurst Blue Team.

Col. David Hudson from the Royal Military Academy Sandhurst presented the award for the fastest course time, which was presented to the team leader from West Point’s Company I-4.

The commandant for the Royal Military College at Duntroon, Brigadier D.M. Luhrs, presented the marksmanship streamer to West Point’s Company E-3.

Maj. Gen. Jeffrey A. Smith, commanding general of the U.S. Army Cadet Command, presented ROTC streamers to the top three ROTC squads with the highest overall scores. Third place was presented to Middle Tennessee State, second place went to Penn State and the first place streamer and trophy went to Central Washington.

Brig. Gen. Tim Lai, British Military Attache, presented the Sandhurst International Streamers to the second place tying teams from the Royal Military Academy Sandhurst.

The Sandhurst Patch was awarded to each member of the five highest-placing teams in the competition by Col. Glenn Goldman, Department of Military Instruction director. In no specific order, these were presented to Royal Military Academy at Duntroon, the Canadian Royal Military Academy, the People’s Liberation Army University of Science and Technology and both teams from the Royal Military Academy Sandhurst.

Col. Joseph DeAntona, the Corps of Cadets brigade tactical officer, presented the Sandhurst Streamers to the highest placing West Point teams in each regiment. These were awarded to F-1, C-2, C-3 and G-4.

Commandant of the Corps of Cadets Brig. Gen. Theodore Martin awarded the Sandhurst Streamer to the West Point team with the highest score from all 36 teams in four regiments. This was presented to the G-4 team. Photo by Mike Strasser, West Point Public Affairs

Since 1967, the Sandhurst Trophy is awarded to the West Point regiment with best aggregate company performance in the competition. Fourth Regiment was the recipient of the Sandhurst Trophy this year, presented by Maj. Gen. Buster Howes, defense attaché in the Washington Embassy, and Commandant of the Corps of Cadets Brig. Gen. Theodore Martin.

The Reginald E. Johnson Memorial Plaque is awarded to the competition’s highest scoring squad. It is commemorated to team leader Cadet Reggie Johnson who tragically died while taking part in the land navigation phase of the competition on April 11, 1980. This year's Sandhurst champions were from the Royal Military Academy at Duntroon.
160 photos · 2,662 views