flickr-free-ic3d pan white

Olivier Messiaen - La Nativité du Seigneur - by Sophie Hacker

This is a set of nine separate art works, each approximately 60cm square, created by Sophie Hacker in 2007 to illustrate the nine movements in Olivier Messiaen's 1935 Organ suite of the same name.

A performance of the suite, accompanied by these panels, was given in Winchester Cathedral on January 6th 2008 - the year of Messiaen's centenary - where these were exhibited.



best viewed in 'original' size

For copyright reasons (as always in photographing works of art); this is placed here with the artist's kind approval, and may be removed at her request.


For information about the artist, see:-


The titles of the nine works (which were created to be viewed individually) are:-

La vierge et l’enfant; Les bergers; Desseins eternals

[ The Virgin & the baby; The Shepherds; Eternal destiny]


Le verbe; Les enfants de Dieu; Les anges

[The Word; The children of God; The angels]


Jésus accepte la souffrance; Les mages; Dieu parmi nous

[Jesus accepts suffering; The Magi; God among us]


Please note that these photos were taken in a mixture of daylight and artificial lighting in Winchester Cathedral and thus may not represent the exact colours of the works. However, I find even these reproductions exciting, and can only urge you to look for more of this artist's work.

6 faves
Taken on January 24, 2008