NYC - UES: Ukrainian Institute of America
Nestled in the midst of "Museum Mile" on the southeast corner of 79th Street and 5th Avenue, is one of the most magnificent and regal turn-of-the-century mansions in New York City today. This French Renaissance style structure houses the jewel of the Ukrainian community: the Ukrainian Institute of America. Originally built as a mansion for 1899 for Isaac and Mary Fletcher by C. P. H. Gilbert.
After Mr. Fletcher died in 1917, the house was acquired by Harry F. Sinclair and subsequently by Augustus van Horn Stuyvesant and his sister Ann Stuyvesant, descendants of Dutch Governor Peter Stuyvesant. In 1955, the property was acquired by the Ukranian Institute of America and it is frequently open to the public for exhibitions.