NYC - Financial District: Morgan Guaranty Trust Building
The Morgan Guaranty Trust Building, at 23 Wall Street, was built in 1913 for J. Pierpont Morgan--the year he died. Designed by Trowbridge & Livingston in Neoclassicisal style, the white marble mansard-roofed building was unique for its lack of verticality among an era of skyscrapers. "The Corner", or "The House of Morgan" served, for years, as the headquarters of the powerful JP Morgan & Company Bank (later the Morgan Guaranty Trust Company).
The single large space on the interior main floor is an irregular pentagon, originally constructed with a ceiling 30 feet high, decorated with a central domed skylight 35 feet wide and hexagonal and circular coffers.
On September 16, 1920, the building was the site of the Wall Street Bombing. 38 were killed and 400 injured by the bombing. The building received heavy damage, with shrapnel entering the building through its large wide windows. To this day, the damage to the limestone façade is visible on the outside of the building, as the company said it would never repair the damage in defiance to those who committed the crime.
In 1957 the building was linked to neighboring 15 Broad Street, a 42-story tower. In 1989, JP Morgan moved its operations to 60 Wall Street, a larger and more modern building two blocks to the east. The building was extensively renovated in the 1990s as a training and conference facility for J.P. Morgan & Co., destroying the grand banking hall.
This building and 15 Broad Street were sold in 2003 for $100 million. The two buildings have become a condominium development, Downtown by Philippe Starck, named for French designer Philippe Starck.
The J.P. Morgan & Company Building was designated a landmark by the New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission in 1965.
National Register #7200874 (1972)