NYC - Greenwich Village: Angelika Film Center
The Angelika Film Center, built in 1989, caters to both mainstream and independent crowds. Occupying the first floor is the overpriced Angelika Café, which is outside the ticket entry point and home to many an auteuristic debate over lattes. The 6 screens are downstairs. Despite poor site lines and the occasional rumbling of the nearby subway line, the Angelika still offers an intimate, charming New York movie experience.
The multiplex resides on the ground floor of the 1892 beaux-arts Cable Building, at 611-621 Broadway, which was designed by McKim, Mead and White on the site of St. Thomas Church, which burned down in 1851, was rebuilt and then demolished around 1890. It was originally designed to be the power plant for the Broadway Cable Traction Company, who operated the cable car line on Broadway. It housed four 1,000 Horse Power Corliss steam engines and eighteen high pressure Heine boilers, all since destroyed, that ower 32-foot diameter driving drums for the cables under the street for the line.
John Jacob Astor was put to rest in the Astor family crypt here in 1848, with Washington Irving as an honorary pallbearer. He was relocated in 1851 to Trinity Church Cemetery at 155th Street. The building, which also houses a Crate and Barrell among numerous offices, is a 9-story, 129-foot tall structure.