new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
The Declaration of Independence, 1776 | by USCapitol
Back to album

The Declaration of Independence, 1776

Allyn Cox

Oil on Canvas


Great Experiment Hall

Cox Corridors


In June 1776 five delegates to the Second Continental Congress drafted the Declaration of Independence. The mural depicts (from left to right) Benjamin Franklin, Roger Sherman, Thomas Jefferson, Robert Livingston, and John Adams. On the wall in the background is a portrait of English philosopher John Locke, whose Second Essay on Government argued that the rights of man include the right of revolution


Left: American naval officer John Paul Jones hoists the Continental Colors, the first national United States flag.

Right: George Washington is shown in a British officer's uniform, which he wore on a 1753 mission to challenge French troops along the Ohio River.


This official Architect of the Capitol photograph is being made available for educational, scholarly, news or personal purposes (not advertising or any other commercial use). When any of these images is used the photographic credit line should read “Architect of the Capitol.” These images may not be used in any way that would imply endorsement by the Architect of the Capitol or the United States Congress of a product, service or point of view. For more information visit


1 fave
Taken on December 7, 2011