3d pan white

The First Thirteen Colonies

EverGreene Painting Studios

Oil on Canvas



The map shows the first thirteen colonies and the year in which each entered the Union. The original Northwest territories, the Connecticut Reserve, and Spanish and West Florida are also shown. Beside the motto "Join or Die" is a snake segmented into thirteen parts, each labeled with the abbreviation of a state, copied from a colonial block print.



This official Architect of the Capitol photograph is being made available for educational, scholarly, news or personal purposes (not advertising or any other commercial use). When any of these images is used the photographic credit line should read “Architect of the Capitol.” These images may not be used in any way that would imply endorsement by the Architect of the Capitol or the United States Congress of a product, service or point of view. For more information visit www.aoc.gov/terms.


0 faves
Taken on October 12, 2011