Disputed Corner of the Sahara

The narrow strip of desert in north-west Africa known as Western or Spanish Sahara is presently ruled as an overseas province of Spain. It is the last outpost of colonialism in the area, the only corner of the vast Desert that is not part of an independent state. Spain has recently indicated its willingness to transfer power to the people of Sahara. But that transfer of power has been complicated by the conflicting claims and interests of three neighboring countries: Morocco, Mauritania and Algeria.

A man of Semara. 16/May/1975. UN Photo/Yutaka Nagata. www.unmultimedia.org/photo/

Argia, aofpool2000 and 2 more people faved this
4 faves
Taken on May 16, 1975
  • Show EXIF
This photo is in 1 group
This photo is in 2 albums

Additional info

  • Viewing this photo Public
  • Safety level of this photo Safe
  • S Search
    Photo navigation
    < > Thumbnail navigation
    Z Zoom
    B Back to context