new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
The Security Council | by United Nations Photo
Back to photostream

The Security Council

Sixteen nations were recommended for immediate U.N. membership this afternoon at an urgent meeting of the Security Council requested by the Soviet Union.The Council voted 8 to 0, with 3 abstentions, to approve a USSR resolution that the General Assembly admit the following states: Albania, Jordan., Ireland, Portugal, Hungary, Italy, Austria, Rumania, Bulgaria, Finland, Ceylon, Nepal, Libya, Cambodia, Laos and Spain. The USSR vetoed a U.S. proposal to include Japan among these states, as it considered that the admission of both Japan and Mongolia should be taken up at the next Assembly. The Assembly will meet tonight to act on the Council's recommendations.


Mr. Arkady A. Sobolev, of the Soviet Union, Sir Pierson Dixon, of the United Kingdom; and Mr. Henry Cabot Lodge, Jr. (U.S.A.), are seen here (l. to r.) during one of the votes.


UN Photo

14 December 1955

Photo # 147487

1 fave
Uploaded on January 15, 2016