State Opening of Parliament 2012
The State Opening of Parliament (9 May 2012) marks the beginning of the parliamentary session. It is the public statement of the government’s legislative programme for Parliament’s next working year.

The State Opening is the only regular occasion when the three parts of Parliament that have to agree to create a law – the Sovereign, the House of Lords and the House of Commons – actually meet.

The main element is the Queen’s Speech: written by the government and read out in the House of Lords.

State Opening of Parliament

The images in this set are subject to parliamentary copyright.
47 photos · 23,087 views