new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
View allAll Photos Tagged google+reviews

Body

Shape: Mine

Mesh body: Maitreya Mesh Body – Lara V5.1

Mesh head: CATWA Catya v4.5

Eyes: IKON

Skin: Scarlett by Belleza

Tattoo: Mine

Hair: Audrie by Mina

 

Outfit

Gift of Steel Collar by Virtual Disgrace / Wendy's Distribution

Brin Tee by miss chelsea

Ripper Jeans by ROULY

Social Distance mask by Off-Line (Marketplace)

Black Lives Matter pin by Ariskea

Joe2020 from the Button Cluster- Joe2020 by Mark Epsilon (Marketplace)

 

Pose by FOXCITY

Location Somewhere BKLYN

When my brother visited Banyumala waterfall in 2015 it was almost unknown and he had to ask farmers until he found someone to guide him there. In 2019 there are more than 1000 google reviews, signs from the main road, paid parking, and a little cafe.

Leicaflex SL

50mm Summicron

Fomapan 100

Rodinal 1:100

60 mins (30 secs agitation, 2 inversions at 20 & 40 mins)

 

Deland, Florida

 

Google Review:

 

" I had entrusted Quality Taxidermy to mount my 10.5 ft gator head to commemorate a fantastic animal and one of the greatest hunting experiences of mine. When I got the gator head back I was shocked at how bad the quality was. It did not look real at all (looked fake) and it had cracks all over it and in places chunks of it were falling out. Worse of all it smelled horrible (not a chemical odor - like bacteria ridden putrid rotting flesh)! The smell was so bad that the gator mount could not be kept in the house, so it was relegated to the garage. However, the smell was so terrible that it was too much for even the garage, so it went into the outside tool shed, basically a waste of money and trophy. When I called to complain they told me "well, it stank when it got here..." no joke. Two years later it still stinks."

 

Maybe there's a reason they went out of business?

I'm skeptical about a place with an unmarked entrance and a million google reviews. To be thorough we each had 3 cocktails, and they were all ....fine.

 

I thought that I was being discrete, but failed to realize how disturbing my focus assist beam was until I got this dirty look from the bar. Oops.

I believe this eatery is closed for good. To be sure, I called their number and it was disconnected. Plus the most recent Google review was two months ago, which leads to my belief that it's closed.

...in false-colour infrared. Taken on 21 June 2018 (but not uploaded until 29 May 2020: see below), looking across an offshoot of the lower lake that extends further south.

 

This was my first (and last: please refer to my ONE-star addition to Google reviews) visit to the Yorkshire Sculpture Park*, near Wakefield, at a time when I was still relatively new to infrared photography. Back then, I simply didn't appreciate that an IR workflow (particularly in false-colour) often involves more than just a consistent number of 'go to' steps because there can be so much variation from one colour capture to the next ('achieving' the above image, for example, involved a lot of random playing around with the hue and saturation sliders for orange, yellow, and green).

 

It also didn't help that I was unaware of a problem (or the necessary 'camera calibration' workaround you should apply first to resolve it) that can arise when Adobe Lightroom and Photoshop fail to recognise the 'as shot' white balance, resulting in initial colour reproduction that is distinctly 'off', so you're hamstrung from the outset! Apparently, this is a known and frequent issue when processing RAW files (check) from a Nikon camera (check) fitted with a sub-720nm filter (check)!

 

Not surprisingly, many of my earliest IR shots turned out to be very disappointing, and the few I could salvage were those that converted pleasingly to mono.

 

Happily, now armed with the knowledge of the above-mentioned workaround, and with my workflow 'tamed' a little, I can now revisit some of my earlier efforts and (hopefully) translate them into worthwhile results.

 

*One of the sculptures can be seen just right of image centre, but I was trying to capture the overall scene, not the sculpture itself (most of them completely left me cold, tbh), which is why it's a wee bit small.

Kroger #536 (closed) [40,462 square feet]

205 E Little Creek Road, Bradley Shopping Center, Norfolk, VA

 

This location opened in September 2000 and closed on November 17th, 2018; it was originally a Food Fair, which was built and opened in 1971. It became a Pantry Pride in 1979, which closed in 1987, (at least partly) became a Drug Emporium in 1988 (which relocated here in summer 1995), and became Hannaford #492 on March 30th, 1996.

 

I just found out about this store's closing very recently; the local news outlets said it would be open until sometime in December. My trip to Norfolk was centered around visiting this store, so you can imagine how disappointed I was when I saw the storefront signs removed! I should've read the Google reviews prior to making the drive, since customers mentioned how it had already closed and had been running out of product beforehand. Bummer.

Lebanon, TN

 

Highlights from Google reviews:

"Very very poorly got cockroaches trying to sleep they crow all over u at night I recommend anyone to this filthy place I'm looking to move I probably go back to bugget inn no bugs rooms r cleaner"

"Needles everywhere and crack popes"

 

Neosho, MO

 

Excerpts from Google reviews:

"The room cleaning couple that live in room ten are drunken, fighting freaks..." (2015)

"Every piece of furniture looks like it was scavenged from a landfill." (2015)

"There was filthy furniture that looked as if it had been picked up beside the road from someone else's garbage. The people running the place have NO CLUE how to run a credit card and left me standing outside in 35 degree weather at their "night window" so they could read through a notebook on how to run a credit card!!" (2016)

"There was inappropriate heart in the room given to me." (2018 <3)

   

Texarkana, TX

 

See where it's a different shade of blue behind part of the lettering? This used to be the TWO-State Motel until they decided to let Louisiana in on the fun.

 

From Google Reviews, 2018: "Drug addicts and prostates is all you will find there." (That's a weirdly vivid image.)

 

Also, I didn't know this until I got home from my trip, but the owner of this motel is well-known for running photographers off the property. Guess I got lucky!

Texarkana, AR

 

Here's a feverish Google review from May 2019, which was accompanied by a pretty grotesque photo of the reviewer's swollen foot:

"I stayed here, paid 2 nights 35.00 a night. It was worse then bates motel. My stalker come and stalked me and the owner guy wound up putting him to work and made me leave. Ummm unfortunately I left in ambulance after 24 hrs sitting in room with stalker outside. Broke my foot and have deep puncture wound from helping friend empty trash on trailer to have money for room. Fell off trailer from stalker calling so much then stepped on welding rod burnt end of it. Needless to say I may lose my foot because hurt it working to pay the 35.00 night. Then was stalked and kicked out. And owner was even telling me to leave before ambulance was even there. Officer made him let me wait cuz couldnt walk. Room full cockroaches and spider and sewage problems. Worse place ever stayed and health dept. Need to inspect place....should be condemned!!!!"

I suspect that not many people are aware of this courtyard but I visit it a few times year in case there is anything of interest - one never knows. Anyway, today I noticed an interesting visual history of the docklands on the hoarding around the Tropical Fruit Warehouse development.

 

The space shown in my photographs is behind the Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane which can be accessed via Rope Walk which connects East Hanover Street to Sir John Rogerson's Quay [there was until recently a locked gate at the Hanover Street end of the lane]. Rope Walk [not to be confused with Ropewalk Place in Ringsend] runs parallel to Lime Street.

 

A ropewalk is a long straight narrow lane, or a covered pathway, where long strands of material are laid before being twisted into rope. Due to the length of some ropewalks, workers may use bicycles to get from one end to the other. Many ropewalks were in the open air, while others were covered only by roofs. Ropewalks historically were harsh sweatshops, and frequently caught fire, as hemp dust ignites easily and burns fiercely.

 

The court yard is named Whitaker Square and it is home to The Economic and Social Research Institute. It is amusing to see that the ESRI has received one Google Review and they received only one star.

 

The institute was founded in 1960 by a group of senior academics and public servants, led by T. K. Whitaker, Secretary of the Department of Finance. While conducting an economic study of Ireland, Whitaker became aware of the necessity for an independent research organisation to conduct analysis of data using up-to-date quantitative techniques in order to make the data useful for public policy makers. The US-based Ford Foundation provided seed funding to establish the Economic Research Institute in 1960. In 1966 the remit of the institute was expanded to include social research and the name changed to Economic and Social Research Institute. The first Director of the institute was Roy C. Geary, Irish statistician and founder of the Central Statistics Office.

 

The Tropical Fruit Warehouse development is described as follows: "Designed by Henry J Lyons Architects this cutting-edge scheme will deliver over 80,000 sq. ft. of unique river front offices and will include a new 6 storey office block at the rear overlooking an existing public square. The original warehouse building will be sensitively restored and the design incorporates the addition of two floating, fully glazed office floors which will cantilever over the protected structure providing panoramic views over the River Liffey."

 

Actually I had asked to see the room before checking in, and looked for bed bugs. Didn't see any, so I checked in, went back up to the room, still refrained from placing my gear on the bed, checked the sheet again, AND THERE S/HE WAS. (I'd never seen one IRL before.) Horrified and disappointed (as was tired and sweaty and had been looking forward to a few supercomfy nights after a 12 h train ride and whatnot), I grabbed my gear and ran like hell. With the bed bug in a piece of paper. To the reception. They didn't seem suitably upset, and started to hand me the key to another room. UM, NO THANKS. Apparently it was impossible to give me all the money back; they kept about €10. (But will hopefully have lost more than that once I'm done warning people about their pest problem on Insta and Flickr. *lolz*) "I will review you", I told them, hopefully sounding terrifyingly like a travel blogger with 10 million readers. (I... recently left a very delayed Google review.)

 

I could find no other accommodation in town (or in Cinque Terre, which was what I was really after), so I Interrailed on. To little Monterosso, where I slept on a station bench, which was painful, but approximately 100000000000000000 times better than getting bed bugs. (And 100000000 times better than paying for Monterosso's €100 "hostel".) In the morning I went to Genova, checked into the rather good Castle Hostel, and fucking commuted to Cinque Terre for a couple of days. I finally went swimming there, on this my 3rd try. (2011: Period. 2012: Rain.) MANAROLA was the place to swim!

 

PS. I don't always tag photos with animal names in the local language, but when I do... it's done to exact maximal revenge on Hotel Aurora. Tihi. >:B

 

------------------------------

Vegan FAQ! :)

 

The Web Site the Meat Industry Doesn't Want You to See.

 

Please watch Earthlings.

I suspect that not many people are aware of this courtyard but I visit it a few times year in case there is anything of interest - one never knows. Anyway, today I noticed an interesting visual history of the docklands on the hoarding around the Tropical Fruit Warehouse development.

 

The space shown in my photographs is behind the Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane which can be accessed via Rope Walk which connects East Hanover Street to Sir John Rogerson's Quay [there was until recently a locked gate at the Hanover Street end of the lane]. Rope Walk [not to be confused with Ropewalk Place in Ringsend] runs parallel to Lime Street.

 

A ropewalk is a long straight narrow lane, or a covered pathway, where long strands of material are laid before being twisted into rope. Due to the length of some ropewalks, workers may use bicycles to get from one end to the other. Many ropewalks were in the open air, while others were covered only by roofs. Ropewalks historically were harsh sweatshops, and frequently caught fire, as hemp dust ignites easily and burns fiercely.

 

The court yard is named Whitaker Square and it is home to The Economic and Social Research Institute. It is amusing to see that the ESRI has received one Google Review and they received only one star.

 

The institute was founded in 1960 by a group of senior academics and public servants, led by T. K. Whitaker, Secretary of the Department of Finance. While conducting an economic study of Ireland, Whitaker became aware of the necessity for an independent research organisation to conduct analysis of data using up-to-date quantitative techniques in order to make the data useful for public policy makers. The US-based Ford Foundation provided seed funding to establish the Economic Research Institute in 1960. In 1966 the remit of the institute was expanded to include social research and the name changed to Economic and Social Research Institute. The first Director of the institute was Roy C. Geary, Irish statistician and founder of the Central Statistics Office.

 

The Tropical Fruit Warehouse development is described as follows: "Designed by Henry J Lyons Architects this cutting-edge scheme will deliver over 80,000 sq. ft. of unique river front offices and will include a new 6 storey office block at the rear overlooking an existing public square. The original warehouse building will be sensitively restored and the design incorporates the addition of two floating, fully glazed office floors which will cantilever over the protected structure providing panoramic views over the River Liffey."

 

I suspect that not many people are aware of this courtyard but I visit it a few times year in case there is anything of interest - one never knows. Anyway, today I noticed an interesting visual history of the docklands on the hoarding around the Tropical Fruit Warehouse development.

 

The space shown in my photographs is behind the Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane which can be accessed via Rope Walk which connects East Hanover Street to Sir John Rogerson's Quay [there was until recently a locked gate at the Hanover Street end of the lane]. Rope Walk [not to be confused with Ropewalk Place in Ringsend] runs parallel to Lime Street.

 

A ropewalk is a long straight narrow lane, or a covered pathway, where long strands of material are laid before being twisted into rope. Due to the length of some ropewalks, workers may use bicycles to get from one end to the other. Many ropewalks were in the open air, while others were covered only by roofs. Ropewalks historically were harsh sweatshops, and frequently caught fire, as hemp dust ignites easily and burns fiercely.

 

The court yard is named Whitaker Square and it is home to The Economic and Social Research Institute. It is amusing to see that the ESRI has received one Google Review and they received only one star.

 

The institute was founded in 1960 by a group of senior academics and public servants, led by T. K. Whitaker, Secretary of the Department of Finance. While conducting an economic study of Ireland, Whitaker became aware of the necessity for an independent research organisation to conduct analysis of data using up-to-date quantitative techniques in order to make the data useful for public policy makers. The US-based Ford Foundation provided seed funding to establish the Economic Research Institute in 1960. In 1966 the remit of the institute was expanded to include social research and the name changed to Economic and Social Research Institute. The first Director of the institute was Roy C. Geary, Irish statistician and founder of the Central Statistics Office.

 

The Tropical Fruit Warehouse development is described as follows: "Designed by Henry J Lyons Architects this cutting-edge scheme will deliver over 80,000 sq. ft. of unique river front offices and will include a new 6 storey office block at the rear overlooking an existing public square. The original warehouse building will be sensitively restored and the design incorporates the addition of two floating, fully glazed office floors which will cantilever over the protected structure providing panoramic views over the River Liffey."

 

Wreck Chasers

From Here To There...Eventually (Part 134)

February 25, 2019

 

Creationists have often made me doubt evolution, but probably not in the way they think. -- David Johansen

 

(This merry band of rogues are the quintessential wreck chasing highwaymen - Google Review: goo.gl/maps/vP6fUFocphN2).

 

Equipment: LG G5

 

Photo reuse encouraged, attribution required. Credit "Thomas Altfather Good"

The Australian Hotel Townsville

where the beer was COLD

and the service mediocre

 

from a Google review :|

"Kitchen apologized and remade the meal, same thing came out again!"

Here are eight shots from my review of Alice Austen Park - this one is for my pal Christine Vrakas (miss you Chris).

Google Review: goo.gl/maps/KdzeBH6kgFzgaXWc9

There is no fee to cover venue costs but I would ask that you have some noms to support the mom and pop who run the place - the all day brekkie is about 4 pounds - I always get extra mushrooms on the side. Folks pay for their own grub on the day ^^ It would be good if you left a Google Review for them too!

 

View more at www.dannychoo.com/en/post/27373/CJ+Meetup+London.html

186 Victoria St

Cardwell, Queensland 4849

 

rated 4.5 on Tripadvisor

 

from Google reviews :

"Great food freshly cooked friendly service- will be back for sure "

"Great burgers great staff!"

"Excellent fish n chips !!!!!:)"

 

180118430

You ever get that feeling when something seems to good to be true ?

I spotted this pop-up camper on RV-Trader, the price seems to good to be true, the list price is not accurate, that was full price new in 2014.

I contacted the dealer, they said that price is correct, "We are a high volume dealer, so we pass it on to our customers" I said "please don't waste my time and I won't waste yours, I'll be driving 400+ miles" they reassured me, "It is exactly as shown, clear title and everything is in working order" So I give a $500 deposit. I'll be there tomorrow with cash in hand, "We'll be expecting you" they gave me my contact salesman's name.

 

We arrive after driving about 6 hours, walk in the office, They were stunned that we showed, they said "You're here to sign papers, not take delivery" Red flag #1 "No it's been all prearranged with sales, I just drove 400 miles" "I spoke with so & so in sales" "Oh ! he called out sick, Red flag #2 So I get another sales person, Now the camper can't be found Red flag #3 So we set out on a golf cart to find it, after driving the 65 acre lot We find it in the shop in total disrepair, I'm totally speechless I can't believe what I'm looking at. Apon our arrival the mechanic in the shop turns and walks out as if he has seen this before. Now the sales manager steps in, "I apologize, we don't operate this way" "We'll take off $1000 on any unit on the lot" I said "first off you don't sell pop-ups normally only travel trailers, I have a travel trailer ! I wanted a pop-up that's why I answered your add ! Second off that pop-up hasn't moved in a very long time, it's covered in a thick dust. "This is a case of bait and switch" we bickered back and forth for a bit, I said "I'll report you to the Better Business Bureau" they didn't care, finally we just walked out.

 

After we leave, my daughter brings up Google reviews, they are terrible, We are not the only ones that have had this scenario happen.

 

All said and done it's been a month since this happened, That camper is still listed on RV-Trader and their personal website for sale. www.optimumrv.com/product/used-2014-coachmen-rv-clipper-1...

 

Shame on you Optimum RV

"Nice people somebaemaids are goofy ut" -Google Review

 

...in mono infrared.

 

Taken on my first (and last: please refer to my ONE-star addition to Google reviews) visit to the Yorkshire Sculpture Park, near Wakefield. This is a shot of the only (IMHO) worthwhile exhibit I came across, a surreal, disembodied head, located in a small clearing on the south shore of the lower lake. Apparently, it is called Wilsis, and is the work of 'internationally acclaimed artist' Jaume Plensa (no, I'd never heard of him either).

One of the hundred (astonishingly, enough) or so Star Market-owned Shaw's supermarkets remaining on Southbridge St. in Auburn, MA. The pebble-faced frontage is straight out of the 70's even if "The shelves look like they are from the 60s." echoes one Google review and a resonance felt by many of this dwindling chain in need to rejuvenation.

 

This Auburn location was once neighbored by Service Merchandise which likely matched the earthy motif, this Shaw's is one of the few supermarkets in the mall area.

 

Shaw's has pulled out of many states in recent years including Connecticut and populates in the Rhode Island, Worcester and Boston areas, many of which will face a slow wave of Star Market rebranding.

GMT 4001 TRJ112 Newport Street Bolton, slide dated 03.76.

 

Darned cyclist, but I suppose he adds a little interest now.

 

One of Frederick Roads workings on the number 8s sees the now preserved 4001 TRJ112, resident of GMTS and returned to Salford City Transport green and cream, at the lights in Newport Street when this was 2-way traffic about to make the left turn into Great Moor Street towards Moor Lane Bus Station.

How this scene has changed. Checkers, office supplies, Aults sports wear, R&J Marsdens (Tools) Ltd, Jolley fashions. Aults are still going albeit in a smaller shop in the same building, but all the other businesses are gone. All those buildings nearer than Aults are now demolished and rebuilt to house the massive Olympus Fish & Chip restaurant. And of course everything off photo left has gone to make way for the new Interchange.

 

Marsdens were never much use as a tool shop, Brabbin & Rudds in Back Cheapside never failed with their huge stock, and Marsdens now repair lawn mowers, elsewhere. Check out their Google reviews !!!!

NE corner of 21st and Prairie

 

"This playground is so poorly designed... equipment, while visually appealing, is way too dangerous one overall not incteresting for kids.. there was already one serious accident with a kid falling down from 10+ foot slide... additionally, all things are made from plastic/recycled rubber which gets insanely hot (and dangerous) with minimal sun, which is pretty much all the times as there is no shade on this playground. Overall - it is a really disappointing playground" -- Ania Pisarek via Google reviews

 

"Another way for the wealthy to enjoy the wealth. Privilege." -- Mercedes Gutierrez via Google reviews

One of the hundred (astonishingly, enough) or so Star Market-owned Shaw's supermarkets remaining on Southbridge St. in Auburn, MA. The pebble-faced frontage is straight out of the 70's even if "The shelves look like they are from the 60s." echoes one Google review and a resonance felt by many of this dwindling chain in need to rejuvenation.

 

This Auburn location was once neighbored by Service Merchandise which likely matched the earthy motif, this Shaw's is one of the few supermarkets in the mall area.

 

Shaw's has pulled out of many states in recent years including Connecticut and populates in the Rhode Island, Worcester and Boston areas, many of which will face a slow wave of Star Market rebranding.

"A good place to park a car", "Makes you feel like a king" - Google reviews

Buy Google Business Reviews

Buy Google Business Reviews we provide always real service. We give you USA, UK, CA, AU & All country profile non-drop 5* reviews. If you want to promote your business. I think a review is very important and helpful for business. all people fast see your feedback and reputation good or bad. if your reputation is bad then the customer can’t buy or interested in your business or service but your reputation/feedback is good 5 star then all customer very impress to your business. if you want to get many buyers. we will send 5-star reviews on the Google Business page, Play Store. Reviews the quality of your service with the reviews and encourage you to take advantage of your product or service in your business. Get quick success with our service support. But we do not guarantee too many sales but we can provide good quality 5-star reviews and guarantee. If you are buying our 5 star Google Reviews.

www.usasmmservice.com/product/buy-google-business-reviews/

West City / Benton, IL

 

This mid-century gem could reportedly be managed quite a bit better, but it always looks spiffy from the outside! The restaurant--which travelers tend to praise--has interior details that echo the zigzag roofline.

 

Memorable excerpts from Google reviews:

"I had Benton water and it does not taste like Benton at all."

"I got ate up by bed bugs left welts in me worse place ever"

"Lobby smelled like old people."

and it's LIVE! ---> www.bkphotography.co.uk

After countless late nights and many hours struggling with the dark arts of web design, my new #Wedding & #Portrait website is finally up and running.

Any shares and likes would, of course, be greatly appreciated and if anyone can spot any mistakes or improvements, I would love to hear from you.

I would also like to give special thanks to everyone who kindly took the time to write a Google review of BK Photography. They were all fantastic.

Thanks again, for all your support!

BK

Taken on my first (and last: please refer to my ONE-star addition to Google reviews) visit to the Yorkshire Sculpture Park, near Wakefield. This is a shot of the only (IMHO) worthwhile exhibit I came across, a surreal, disembodied head, located in a small clearing on the south shore of the lower lake. Apparently, it is called Wilsis, and is the work of 'internationally acclaimed artist' Jaume Plensa (no, I'd never heard of him either).

From a Google review...

 

"I descended into the base of the former Irish store to see what stock was held in this "Military Basement". I was astonished and astounded by the huge quantity of items they hold - I could have been there for hours just browsing!

The staff were helpful, polite and friendly.

I recommend anyone who wants any sort of military kit to make this their starting point.

(As it's name indicates it is located in the basement of the former "Irish" store. It is accessed only by a narrow fairly steep staircase off of it's entrance on Silver Street, Leicester. As such it is not disabled accessible.)."

What is photography without a little social commentary?

 

Notice the Aids Action Foundation sign on the main building. I believe this is part of the Victoria Hospital complex.

 

Go online and read the google reviews, many make sad reading for sure. Whilst the St Lucians we met were certainly friendly and outwardly happy, life for many is pretty grim.

I suspect that not many people are aware of this courtyard but I visit it a few times year in case there is anything of interest - one never knows. Anyway, today I noticed an interesting visual history of the docklands on the hoarding around the Tropical Fruit Warehouse development.

 

The space shown in my photographs is behind the Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane which can be accessed via Rope Walk which connects East Hanover Street to Sir John Rogerson's Quay [there was until recently a locked gate at the Hanover Street end of the lane]. Rope Walk [not to be confused with Ropewalk Place in Ringsend] runs parallel to Lime Street.

 

A ropewalk is a long straight narrow lane, or a covered pathway, where long strands of material are laid before being twisted into rope. Due to the length of some ropewalks, workers may use bicycles to get from one end to the other. Many ropewalks were in the open air, while others were covered only by roofs. Ropewalks historically were harsh sweatshops, and frequently caught fire, as hemp dust ignites easily and burns fiercely.

 

The court yard is named Whitaker Square and it is home to The Economic and Social Research Institute. It is amusing to see that the ESRI has received one Google Review and they received only one star.

 

The institute was founded in 1960 by a group of senior academics and public servants, led by T. K. Whitaker, Secretary of the Department of Finance. While conducting an economic study of Ireland, Whitaker became aware of the necessity for an independent research organisation to conduct analysis of data using up-to-date quantitative techniques in order to make the data useful for public policy makers. The US-based Ford Foundation provided seed funding to establish the Economic Research Institute in 1960. In 1966 the remit of the institute was expanded to include social research and the name changed to Economic and Social Research Institute. The first Director of the institute was Roy C. Geary, Irish statistician and founder of the Central Statistics Office.

 

The Tropical Fruit Warehouse development is described as follows: "Designed by Henry J Lyons Architects this cutting-edge scheme will deliver over 80,000 sq. ft. of unique river front offices and will include a new 6 storey office block at the rear overlooking an existing public square. The original warehouse building will be sensitively restored and the design incorporates the addition of two floating, fully glazed office floors which will cantilever over the protected structure providing panoramic views over the River Liffey."

 

One of the hundred (astonishingly, enough) or so Star Market-owned Shaw's supermarkets remaining on Southbridge St. in Auburn, MA. The pebble-faced frontage is straight out of the 70's even if "The shelves look like they are from the 60s." echoes one Google review and a resonance felt by many of this dwindling chain in need to rejuvenation.

 

This Auburn location was once neighbored by Service Merchandise which likely matched the earthy motif, this Shaw's is one of the few supermarkets in the mall area.

 

Shaw's has pulled out of many states in recent years including Connecticut and populates in the Rhode Island, Worcester and Boston areas, many of which will face a slow wave of Star Market rebranding.

Spring Break day 8 - Another day, another bookmark.

I'm liking the use of the bookmark to separate the days on a trip, maybe I'll keep it going.

 

(title stolen from an actual Google review of this bar, there could be no better)

Chick-fil-A #1102 (4,738 square feet)

2140 Coliseum Drive, Coliseum Marketplace, Hampton, VA

Opened June 15th, 2000, renovated in fall 2012

 

This is only my second time eating at this location; the first was back in January 2013 on the day I took its' exterior photos, which was back before I had a smartphone and photography inside restaurants was more taboo. Well here we are in 2019 and everyone posts crappy Google review photos. A lot sure has changed in six years! I ate here right after they finished their remodel, and it's standard looking though the counter set-up looks unusual (it's curved and has a gap in the middle for employees to take dine-in orders to tables, similar to what McDonald's does now).

One of the hundred (astonishingly, enough) or so Star Market-owned Shaw's supermarkets remaining on Southbridge St. in Auburn, MA. The pebble-faced frontage is straight out of the 70's even if "The shelves look like they are from the 60s." echoes one Google review and a resonance felt by many of this dwindling chain in need to rejuvenation.

 

This Auburn location was once neighbored by Service Merchandise which likely matched the earthy motif, this Shaw's is one of the few supermarkets in the mall area.

 

Shaw's has pulled out of many states in recent years including Connecticut and populates in the Rhode Island, Worcester and Boston areas, many of which will face a slow wave of Star Market rebranding.

I suspect that not many people are aware of this courtyard but I visit it a few times year in case there is anything of interest - one never knows. Anyway, today I noticed an interesting visual history of the docklands on the hoarding around the Tropical Fruit Warehouse development.

 

The space shown in my photographs is behind the Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane which can be accessed via Rope Walk which connects East Hanover Street to Sir John Rogerson's Quay [there was until recently a locked gate at the Hanover Street end of the lane]. Rope Walk [not to be confused with Ropewalk Place in Ringsend] runs parallel to Lime Street.

 

A ropewalk is a long straight narrow lane, or a covered pathway, where long strands of material are laid before being twisted into rope. Due to the length of some ropewalks, workers may use bicycles to get from one end to the other. Many ropewalks were in the open air, while others were covered only by roofs. Ropewalks historically were harsh sweatshops, and frequently caught fire, as hemp dust ignites easily and burns fiercely.

 

The court yard is named Whitaker Square and it is home to The Economic and Social Research Institute. It is amusing to see that the ESRI has received one Google Review and they received only one star.

 

The institute was founded in 1960 by a group of senior academics and public servants, led by T. K. Whitaker, Secretary of the Department of Finance. While conducting an economic study of Ireland, Whitaker became aware of the necessity for an independent research organisation to conduct analysis of data using up-to-date quantitative techniques in order to make the data useful for public policy makers. The US-based Ford Foundation provided seed funding to establish the Economic Research Institute in 1960. In 1966 the remit of the institute was expanded to include social research and the name changed to Economic and Social Research Institute. The first Director of the institute was Roy C. Geary, Irish statistician and founder of the Central Statistics Office.

 

The Tropical Fruit Warehouse development is described as follows: "Designed by Henry J Lyons Architects this cutting-edge scheme will deliver over 80,000 sq. ft. of unique river front offices and will include a new 6 storey office block at the rear overlooking an existing public square. The original warehouse building will be sensitively restored and the design incorporates the addition of two floating, fully glazed office floors which will cantilever over the protected structure providing panoramic views over the River Liffey."

 

Muskogee, OK

 

From a 2018 Google review:

"My "peep hole' was just a hole in the door with a napkin stuffed inside."

Vivias Cafe

135 Victoria Street

Cardwell QLD 4849

 

from a Google review :

"The coffee is great, food very yummy, friendly Staff & a view to die for."

 

On SORN now, but that's better than being scrapped, it hasn't even with the current owner that long, only 4 years, so I suspect they are aware of its relative rarity. I don't remember seeing many Escorts like this with diesel engines, but at the time they were still fairly unrefined, which no doubt hindered popularity. Sold new at Wimbledon City Ford, which may or may not have been replaced by Dees Ford Wimbledon, who do not seem particularly popular on google reviews!

Oddly, around the corner was another J reg Ford supplied by the same dealer.

One of the hundred (astonishingly, enough) or so Star Market-owned Shaw's supermarkets remaining on Southbridge St. in Auburn, MA. The pebble-faced frontage is straight out of the 70's even if "The shelves look like they are from the 60s." echoes one Google review and a resonance felt by many of this dwindling chain in need to rejuvenation.

 

This Auburn location was once neighbored by Service Merchandise which likely matched the earthy motif, this Shaw's is one of the few supermarkets in the mall area.

 

Shaw's has pulled out of many states in recent years including Connecticut and populates in the Rhode Island, Worcester and Boston areas, many of which will face a slow wave of Star Market rebranding.

Aleksandra

January 24, 2019

 

Aleksandre is a waitress par excellence at the Nürnberger Bierhaus - here is my Google review: goo.gl/maps/xTji8LUQVCm

 

Equipment: LG G5

 

Photo reuse encouraged, attribution required. Credit "Thomas Altfather Good"

The very neat and clean looking Hot Foods and Salad bars. The Panama City Lucky's also got the Ramen/Sushi bar. From a few of the Google reviews I've read, this bar appears to be fairly popular.

Mt. Vernon, IL

 

Inscrutable Google review from 2013:

"This place is awesome the family has on the lawn 1937 it was a long lease with Motel 6 in the to get back over in they run it themselves now clean rooms nice people couldn't ask for better facilities"

3.8 stars (out of 5) based on 277 reviews.

 

5 star Michael says:

 

"An excellently placed multi car park for proximity to RSC Theatre in Stratford and river access, with possibility of walks along the river and into town. It is easy to access the car park, with car plates recognition. We only have to type in the registration number on returning to the park. An hour is free and charges are reasonable."

 

1 star Tim says:

 

"We spent over 10 minutes trying to pay. There is a gap between the screen and the protective glass meaning you have to get just the right position and touch in order for the key to register. If you don't complete this process within a certain time, the computer will time out and you have to start again. We entered out licence number twice and it didn't register. Computer just said no. We tried different machines in different combinations but no. On the third attempt, it finally worked. The payment system is so technologically advanced that it doesn't work. Please bring back the old system. It used to be quick to pay, but is now a nightmare. My elderly friend couldn't figure it out and if I wasn't there, he would have easily been trapped for hours. Somebody please do something! Help!!!"

 

Note that the building carries the wrong name! The official name is Stratford-upon-Avon.

Nigel

January 24, 2019

 

Nigel at the Nürnberger Bierhaus - here is my Google review:

goo.gl/maps/xTji8LUQVCm

 

Equipment: LG G5

 

Photo reuse encouraged, attribution required. Credit "Thomas Altfather Good"

1 3 4 5 6 7 ••• 79 80