Gretchen Morgenson Wins Lifetime Achievement Award
Gretchen Morgenson, assistant business and financial editor and a Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist for the New York Times is the 2010 winner of the New York Financial Writers Association's Elliott V. Bell Award. Morgenson has covered the world financial markets for The Times since 1998 and won the Pulitzer Prize in 2002 for her coverage of Wall Street. The Elliott V. Bell Award is named for the longtime editor of Business Week magazine who was the founding president of the NYFWA in 1938. It is awarded annually to "an outstanding journalist who has made a significant long-term contribution to the profession of financial journalism." Recent winners include Allan Sloan, Fortune (2009); Jerry Flint, Forbes (2008), and Diana B. Henriques, New York Times (2007). For a complete list, see
The award presentation ceremony was held October 7, at the CUNY Graduate School of Journalism , where Morgenson was introduced by Tim O'Brien, Sunday Financial Editor of The Times.
21 photos · 497 views