Teretonga - March 2012
Invercargill driver Grant Molloy took his Mitsubishi Mirage to victory in the A1 Auto Services 1 Hour Endurance Race at the final motor race meeting of the season at Teretonga Park in Invercargill on Sunday.

Molloy crossed the line 28 seconds ahead of Ian Clapperton of Dunedin in a Holden Commodore and another local driver, Bradley Dawson in a Toyota Trueno. Clapperton had built a lead in the race but a clutch problem slowed him when he took his compulsory pitstop and Molloy capitalised to seize the lead and take the race. Clapperton dropped down the order and climbed back to second at the chequered flag after 45 laps.

The meeting, presented by Downer, was held on a wet track but drivers managed the conditions well.

Molloy also won two of the Noel McIntyre Drainage Clubmans races on the programme with Dawson and Glenn Johnston of Gore in a Honda Integra second and third respectively on each occasion. Darryn Andrews of Lincoln won the 2501cc & over section in the class race while Glenn Johnston, Bradley Dawson and Ian McKenzie of Otautau were the other class winners. Andrews also won the Flying Farewell in his turbocharged Nissan Primera from Clapperton and Robert Ralston of Invercargill in a Nissan NX.

Damon Leitch, fresh from his outstanding international season in the Toyota Racing Series, dominated the Sports & Racing Car events. Driving the most advanced car in the class, a Tatuus Formula Renault, he qualified fastest and won all four races. His employer Dave McKenzie was second in each of the races in a Reynard with the younger of the Leitch brothers, Brendon, third in his Formula Ford in every race. Damon even overcame a 10 second penalty for jumping the start in one of the races.
369 photos · 1,014 views
1 3 4