Royal Museum, Kuala Kangsar,Perak
The museum building, originally built as a palace in 1926, was made entirely from wood by a Malay builder on the royal command of His Royal Highness Sultan Iskandar Shah (1918-1938) who needed a temporary palace while the large and permanent Istana Iskandariah was under construction.
HRH Sultan Iskandar occupied this palace, known as Istana Kenangan, from 1931 to 1933. After the Sultan moved into the new Istana Iskandariah, this temporary palace continued to be used for special royal occasions.
Its architecture is traditional Malay and is most unique as it is the only one of its kind in the country. Fine wooden carvings and woven wall-mats enhance the beauty and uniqueness of this beautiful wooden building. It rests on 60 wooden pillars and is 42 metres long and 11metres wide. The shape is representative of a sword in its scabbard when viewed from above.
In 1982, His Royal Highness, the late Sultan Idris Shah (1963-1984) gave his assent to transfer this palace to the care of the Museums Department.