Red Scar House c.1938
Residence of William Assheton Cross 1818 - 1883. former J.P. for Lancashire.
This delightful property was demolished in 1939 partly to make way for Courtauld's works.
The property was located in what is now the garden of rememberance of Preston Crematorium south of Longridge Road. A large part of the former wooded grounds became Red Scar Industrial Estate.
"Red Scar," the seat of Major Cross, a quaint Elizabethan mansion,
with modern additions, is situated on the table land opposite to the centre
of the river's curve. It is no slight privilege to be permitted to ramble through
the winding paths, shadowy vistas, and secluded dingles, musical with the
voices of singing brooks and birds, embosomed in the depths of these woods,
from the lone quietude of which we occasionally catch a glimpse of
the bright country beyond. Here are stately halls of Nature's architecture,
domed by the azure heaven, and paved in rich mosaic, lustrous with the
bloom of the wild blue hyacinth, and flakes of golden sheen by the bright
attenuated fingers of stray sunbeams at random flung ! Hanging leaves
form verdant curtains with quivering fringe, so perfect yet picturesque in
form, that sympathetic fancy denies that the rude east wind hath ever
breathed upon them, or the eye of living being previously mirrored their
beauty ! This little Eden is within about three miles from the manufacturing
town of Preston, and yet few of its inhabitants ever visit the spot. Some
animals, in dire extremity, are said to feed upon their own limbs. Doth the
ravenous appetite for material wealth absorb that portion of the soul which
rejoices and expands in the presence of the Beautiful ?