MLK 2011 Reception
On Friday, January 14, 2011, over 370 patrons attended the First Annual 2011 Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Reception at the Richton Park Public Library District. An array of community leaders, students, educators and talented authors, illustrators, singers, artists and poets came out to support the 268 MLK Contest entries from school districts 159, 162 and 227. Award-winning illustrator, Jan Spivey Gilchrist, congratulated the students after reading her book “Honey, I Love” to the audience. Students grades K-12th were awarded up to $75 in Borders gift cards donated by the Friends of the Richton Park Library, as well as prize books from authors Jan Spivey Gilchrist, Leslie Best, Joyce Elaine Jones, and Darryl Harvey. Jennifer Artis and Wendell Mosby also made donations. The winners included ten students from Neil Armstrong, Marya Yates, Woodgate, Colin Powell, Indiana and Rich South schools. Other talented supporters included authors Brenda Eatman Aghohowa, Barbara Jackson, Yvette Jones, Sheila Edwards-Howard, Mathell Givens, and John Fountain, artist Justin Baggett, and spoken-word poets Nicole Starr Perry and Monte Raby. Mrs. Kelley D. Nichols-Brown, Library Director, plans to hold this event every year in honor of the Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday.
84 photos · 621 views