Hertford Meeting Room
It has been in continuous use since 1686. Note the unique 4-tier stand constructed sometime before 1717. Note too the structural support to the walls added 1980/1.
The benches are basic planks fastened together.
The meeting house was built 1670 and is therefore the oldest purpose-built Quaker meeting house in the world. Two women lived on the premises between 1676 and 1683 to prevent its destruction by magistrates, although the mob, orchestrated by the magistrates, damaged the building to such an extent in 1684 after they had left that it had to be closed for two years.