2017 Pennsylvania Historic Preservation Award Recipients
The Power of Preservation:
Announcing 2017 Pennsylvania Historic Preservation Award Recipients

Twenty-three people and projects located across the state were selected to receive Pennsylvania Historic Preservation Awards this year. The awards will be presented at a ceremony and reception on October 12 at The State Museum of Pennsylvania in Harrisburg, with Pennsylvania’s First Lady Frances Wolf attending.

This year’s highest honors go to The Progress Fund, a Westmoreland County community development lender, which will receive the F. Otto Haas Award for outstanding individual achievements in historic preservation, and James L. Brown IV, of the Parkside Development Corporation in Philadelphia, recognized with the Henry A. Jordan Award for outstanding historic preservation efforts at the local level. The awards are hosted by Preservation Pennsylvania, the commonwealth’s only statewide, private, nonprofit membership organization dedicated to the protection of historically and architecturally significant places.

“The range of this year’s awards honorees -- from loans and technical assistance to place-making and redevelopment -- demonstrates that preservation has evolved from early focus on saving a single building into a powerful tool for economic stimulus and neighborhood revitalization,” said Mindy Crawford, Executive Director of Preservation Pennsylvania.

F. Otto Haas Award for outstanding individual achievements in historic preservation
The Progress Fund (Westmoreland County)

Henry A. Jordan Award for outstanding historic preservation efforts at the local level
James L. Brown, IV (Philadelphia County)

Chairman’s Award for demonstrated leadership in historic preservation
Shirley Hanson and the Chestnut Hill Conservancy (Philadelphia County)

Ralph Modjeski Award for excellence in transportation design, preservation and archaeology
Walnut Lane Bridge Over Wissahickon Creek (Philadelphia County)

Preservation Planning Award
Wilkinsburg Neighborhood Restoration (Allegheny County)
Carroll Cabin (Fayette County)
Washington's War Tent (Philadelphia County)

Public Impact Award
Buddy's Brew on Carson, Formerly the Sankey Brick Company (Allegheny County)
Uptown! Knauer Performing Arts Center, Formerly the West Chester National Guard Armory (Chester County)
The Millworks, Formerly the Stokes Millworks (Dauphin County)
Easton Public Market, Formerly Rader's Dry Goods (Northampton County)

Dollar Bank (Allegheny County)
Beaver Station Cultural and Event Center, Formerly the Pittsburgh & Lake Erie Railroad Passenger Station (Beaver County)
The Big Mill Apartments, Formerly the Curtis and Jones Company Shoe Factory (Berks County)
Tarbell House (Crawford County)
Dickson Tavern (Erie County)
Governor George Wolf Building. Formerly Easton High School (Northampton County)
East Park Canoe House (Philadelphia County)
Willow Grove Ave Bridge over SEPTA (Philadelphia County)
York College Center for Community Engagement, Formerly the Lafayette Club Building (York County)

Keim House (Berks County)

Community Involvement
Conneaut Lake Town Hall, Formerly the High Street Church (Crawford County)
Musselman/Vesta Iron Furnace Center (Lancaster County)

The public is invited to join this celebration on Thursday, October 12, 2017 at The State Museum of Pennsylvania in Harrisburg. Ticket and sponsorship information available at www.preservationpa.org
Annually, since 1979, the Pennsylvania Historic Preservation Awards have honored individuals and organizations that exhibited excellence in the field of historic preservation. Preservation Pennsylvania is the commonwealth’s only statewide, private non-profit, membership organization dedicated to preserving Pennsylvania’s historic places through creative partnerships, targeted educational and advocacy programs, special projects, and technical assistance.

For tickets and sponsorship information, please visit our website: preservationpa.org/page.asp?id=9
24 photos · 115 views