Downtown North Little Rock
Known only as "opposite Little Rock" until the Civil War, North Little Rock grew as a crossroads that linked river and overland traffic. In 1866, surveyed and platted, an unincorporated town of mills, factories, hotels and saloons became known as the town of Argenta. In 1890, the community of Argenta filed papers to incorporate as a city. However, Argenta's southern neighbor, across the Arkansas River, quickly passed legislation to annex the little town and make it the eighth ward of that city.
Years later a group of north side businessmen led by William C. Faucette (who was elected to the Arkansas state legislature) introduced a bill to allow a new city to be created by annexing the eighth ward of Little Rock. In 1903 North Little Rock and Argenta town residents voted to merge. Little Rock mounted a court challenge, but on February 6, 1904, the Arkansas Supreme Court ruled in favor of the 1903 merger of North Little Rock and Argenta (named for silver mines), with more than 8,000 residents. In January of 1906 North Little Rock changes its name to Argenta, but in October 1917 renamed itself back to North Little Rock.
Currently, North Little Rock has a population of 60,433+, with approximately 53.5 square miles of diverse, charming and affordable neighborhoods, beautiful lakes, outstanding parks and recreational facilities, walking and bicycling trails on the picturesque riverfront along the Arkansas River, linked by the Big Dam Bridge to trails in Little Rock, minor league baseball at its finest in the Dickey-Stephens ballpark which opened on April 12, 2007, the historic USS Razorback Submarine which is open for tours, a rapidly growing downtown business and historic residential district, many churches and faith based organizations, and substantial business, industry, entertainment facilities and restaurants which flourish throughout the city.