new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
Bends | by nomadsnature
Back to photostream


ROYGBIV or Roy G. Biv is an acronym for the sequence of hues commonly described as making up a rainbow: red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet. Aristotle claimed there was a scale of seven basic colours. In the Renaissance, several artists tried to establish a new sequence of up to seven primary colours from which all other colours could be mixed. In line with this artistic tradition, Newton divided his colour circle, which he constructed to explain additive colour mixing, into seven colours. His colour sequence including the tertiary colour indigo is kept alive today by the Roy G. Biv mnemonic. Originally he used only five colours, but later he added orange and indigo to match the number of musical notes in the major scale.

Info source URL:


Photo capture date & Location: 2015-12 Clarens

27 faves
Taken on December 12, 2015