The National Museum of Australia was designed by architects Ashton Raggatt McDougall and Robert Peck von Hartel Trethowan and sits on an 11 hectare site in Australia's national capital Canberra on the Acton Peninsula, edging Lake Burley Griffin.

The project originated with an International Design Competition which the architects won in 1997 and was opened at the Acton Peninsula in March 2001.

Learn more about our building architecture

Find out more about the inspirations behind the design of the National Museum of Australia
30 photos · 3,207 views