new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
The Apollo 11 Prime Crew | by NASA on The Commons
Back to photostream

The Apollo 11 Prime Crew

Portrait of the prime crew of the Apollo 11 lunar landing mission. From left to right they are: Commander, Neil A. Armstrong, Command Module Pilot, Michael Collins, and Lunar Module Pilot, Edwin E. Aldrin Jr. On July 20th 1969 at 4:18 PM, Eastern Daylight Time the Lunar Module "Eagle" landed on a region of the Moon called the Mare Tranquillitatis (the Sea of Tranquillity). After securing his spacecraft, Armstrong radioed back to earth: "Houston, Tranquility Base here, the Eagle has landed". At 10:56 p.m. that same evening and witnessed by a worldwide television audience, Neil Armstrong stepped off the Eagle's landing pad onto the lunar surface and said: "That's one small step for a man, one giant leap for mankind." He became the first human to set foot upon the Moon.


Image number: S69-31739

Date: May 1, 1969

96 faves