new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
#conservationlands15 Social Media Takeover, March 15th, National Conservation Areas | by mypubliclands
Back to photostream

#conservationlands15 Social Media Takeover, March 15th, National Conservation Areas

#conservationlands15 Social Media Takeover, March 15th


What is an National Conservation Area? From the vast deserts of western Nevada to the fog-shrouded coast of Northern California, the BLM’s National Conservation Lands has stewardship of 16 NCAs and five similarly designated lands in ten states. Each area is has its own unique congressional legislation guiding BLM stewardship and public use. They offer a wide range of recreation opportunities, from whitewater rafting and gold-medal trout fishing in the Gunnison Gorge NCA in Colorado to world-class rock climbing in Red Rock Canyon NCA in Nevada. These lands feature exceptional scientific, cultural, and ecological values. For example, the San Pedro Riparian NCA in Arizona supports over 350 species of birds while the Steese NCA in Alaska contains critical caribou calving grounds. They differ tremendously in landscape and size, the largest being Nevada’s 1.2 million acre Black Rock Desert-High Rock Canyon- Emigrant Trails National Conservation Area.


Photo by Bob Wick, BLM.

1 fave
Uploaded on March 14, 2015