new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white

Elvas, Portugal

Elvas, Portugal


Elvas (Portuguese pronunciation: [ˈɛɫvɐʃ]) is a Portuguese municipality, an episcopal city and frontier fortress of Portugal, located in the district of Portalegre in Alentejo. It is situated about 230 km east of Lisbon, and about 15 km west of the Spanish fortress of Badajoz, by the Madrid-Badajoz-Lisbon railway. The city itself has a population of 18,106.


Elvas lies on a hill 8 km northwest of the river Guadiana. It is defended by seven bastions and the two forts of Santa Luzia and Nossa Senhora da Graça. Its late Gothic cathedral, which has also many traces of Moorish influence in its architecture, dates from the reign of Manuel I of Portugal (1495-1521). A 6 km long aqueduct supplies the city with pure water; it was begun early in the 15th century and completed in 1622. For some distance it includes four tiers of superimposed arches, with a total height of 40 m. The surrounding lowlands are very fertile, and Elvas is known for its olives and plums, the last-named being exported, either fresh or dried, in large quantities. Brandy is distilled and pottery manufactured in the city. The fortress of Campo Maior, 15 km to the northeast, is famous for its siege by the French and relief by the British under Marshal Beresford in 1811, an exploit commemorated in a ballad by Sir Walter Scott. It was wrested from the Moors by Afonso I of Portugal in 1166; but was temporarily recaptured before its final occupation by the Portuguese in 1226. In 1570 it became an episcopal see. From 1642 until modern times it was the chief frontier fortress south of the Tagus; and it twice withstood sieges by the Spanish, in 1658 and 1711. The French under Marshal Junot took it in March 1808 during the Peninsular War, but evacuated it in August, after the conclusion of the Convention of Sintra.




Elvas OTE é uma cidade portuguesa situada no Distrito de Portalegre, na região do Alentejo e na sub-região do Alto Alentejo, com cerca de 15 900 habitantes (2011). Elvas é juntamente com a cidade de Portalegre, as duas capitais da CIMAA - Comunidade Intermunicipal do Alto Alentejo que engloba 15 municípios e cerca de 120 mil habitantes.

É sede de um município com 631,04 km² de área e 23 078 habitantes (Censos 2011), subdividido em 11 freguesias. O município é limitado a norte pelo município de Arronches, a nordeste por Campo Maior, a sudeste por Olivença e pelo município espanhol de Badajoz, a sul pelo Alandroal e por Vila Viçosa e a oeste por Borba e por Monforte.

Às portas de Espanha, distando apenas 8 km (em linha recta) da cidade de Badajoz, Elvas foi a mais importante praça-forte da fronteira portuguesa, a cidade mais fortificada da Europa, tendo sido por isso cognominada "Rainha da Fronteira". Elvas e Badajoz preparam o futuro para criar uma única cidade com o nome de Eurocidade Elvas-Badajoz.

Elvas alberga o maior conjunto de fortificações abaluartadas do mundo, as quais são candidatas a Património Mundial da Humanidade da UNESCO desde 21 de maio de 2009. O resultado da sua candidatura será decidido em 2011. Elvas é também conhecida como "Cidade Monumental" ou "Cidade Museológica".



0 faves
1 comment
Taken on April 25, 2012