versailles, france 31.10.2009

Versailles, renowned for the Palace of Versailles, was the de facto capital of the kingdom of France for over a century, from 1682 to 1789. Located in the western suburbs of the French capital, 17.1 km from the center of Paris, the commune of Versailles is the préfecture of the Yvelines department. Versailles is historically known for numerous treaties such as Treaty of Paris (1783), which ended the American Revolutionary War and the Treaty of Versailles, which ended World War I.
Versailles was the unofficial capital city of the kingdom of France from May 1682 (when King Louis XIV moved the court and government permanently to Versailles) until September 1715 (death of Louis XIV and regency, with the regent Philippe d'Orléans returning to Paris), and then again from June 1722 (when Louis XV returned to Versailles permanently) to October 1789 (when Louis XVI was forced to move to Paris by the people of Paris). During the entire period, Paris remained the official capital of France, but government affairs were conducted from Versailles.

*This set also features "The Architects", a series exhibition by Parisian sculptor Xavier Veilhan of: Bona-Lemercier, Tadao Ando, Jean Nouvel, Kazuyo Sejima, Lacaton & Vassal.
87 photos · 126 views