new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
MAMA Distinguished Municipal Attorney Award Winners Jeffrey V.H. Sluggett, Sue A. Jeffers and Thomas R. Schultz | by Michigan Municipal League (MML)
Back to photostream

MAMA Distinguished Municipal Attorney Award Winners Jeffrey V.H. Sluggett, Sue A. Jeffers and Thomas R. Schultz

There were many awards, honors and accolades given during the 2010 Michigan Municipal League Convention in Dearborn, Sept. 21-24. During the 112th Annual Convention the League Board of Trustees selected the 2011 Board President and Vice President. Alpena Mayor Carol Shafto was named president and Hamtramck Mayor Karen Majewski was named vice president. The League also recognized outgoing Board President Jeff Jenks, Huntington Woods mayor pro tem; and the following outgoing board members for their years of service: Richard Clanton, Kentwood mayor pro tem; Kenneth Cockrel Jr., Detroit city councilmember; Penny Hill, Kalkaska Village manager; Deanna Koski, Sterling Heights councilmember; and David Post, Hillman Village manager. Six new trustees also were named to the 19-member board. They are Charles Pugh, Detroit City Council president; Utica Mayor Jacqueline K. Noonan; Eastpointe Mayor Suzanne Pixley; Spring Lake Village president William Filber; Amos O’Neal, Saginaw mayor pro tem; and Jeffery Lawson, Mackinaw City Village manager. Each will serve a three-year term, effective Sept. 24, 2010. The City of Grand Haven won the League’s most prestigious community award taking home the coveted Community Excellence Award Cup. Grand Blanc Mayor and former League President Michael Matheny received the Honorary Life Membership Award; Hastings Mayor Robert L. May received the Jim Sinclair Exceptional Service Award; and Sault Ste. Marie Mayor Anthony “Tony” Bosbous was awarded the Michael A. Guido Leadership and Public Service Award. Legislator of the Year Awards went to Rep. Ed Clemente, D-Lincoln Park; Rep. Doug Geiss, D-Taylor; and Rep. Joe Haveman, R-Holland. Special Awards of Merit were given to Kenneth V. Cockrel Jr., Detroit councilmember; Gary Heidel, interim executive director for the Michigan State Housing Development Authority (MSHDA); and Clara Shepherd; Muskegon city commissioner. The League also recognized graduates of our Elected Officials Academy. Level 1 graduates were Joseph Greene, Caro councilmember; Kathleen Ling, Mt. Pleasant commissioner; Rusty Showalter, West Branch councilmember; Eileen Steadman, Berkley councilmember; Nathan Triplett, East Lansing councilmember; and Joel VanSlambrouck, Portland councilmember. Level 2 graduates were Joshua Meringa, Grandville councilmember; and Nathan Triplett, East Lansing councilmember. Level 3 graduates were Susan Baldwin, Battle Creek mayor; William Lasher, Ovid Village president; David Lossing, Linden mayor; and Gary McDowell, Adrian mayor. In addition, the Michigan Association of Municipal Attorneys (MAMA) awarded three people the Distinguished Municipal Attorney Award. The recipients were Thomas R. Schultz, city attorney for Novi and other communities; Sue Jeffers, associate general counsel for the League; and Jeffrey V.H. Sluggett, attorney for Cedar Springs, Walker, Saugatuck; Lakeview Village and Alpine Township. For more about the Elected Officials Academy go here: To learn more about the League and what we do go to For additional posts about Convention go here: and for additional photos from the 2010 Convention go here:

0 faves
Taken on September 21, 2010