Musee Carnavalet in Paris France
Musee Carnavalet is one of the state run museums, which means it is free admission. What is unique about this museum is in encompasses two beautiful buildings that were stately homes and they have recreated many of the rooms as well as other unique rooms/stores from various periods of Paris' past.
The museum occupies two adjoining mansions (the Hotel Le Peletier de St-Fargeau and the Hotel Carnavalet). The main building, The Hôtel Carnavalet, was built as a town house in 1548 by Nicolas Dupuis. The Hotel Carnavalet is a Renaissance jewel that in the mid-1600s became the home of writer Madame de Sevigne. The 17th century Hotel le Peletier was added to the museum in 1989 to contain the larger part of the museum's 20th century interiors.