new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
Nineteen Eighty-Four | by Martin Isaac
Back to photostream

Nineteen Eighty-Four

Nineteen eighty-four

George Orwell


First published 1949

Published in Penguin Books 1954

Rreprinted 1954, 1955 (twice), 1956, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965

Cover design by Germano Facetti


From the back cover:1984 is the year in which it happens. The world is divided into three great powers, Oceania, Eurasia, and Eastasia, each perpetually at war with the other. Throught Oceania 'The Party' rules by the agency of four ministries, whose power is absolute - the Ministry of Peace which deals with war, the Ministry of Love (headquarters of the dreaded Thought Police) which deals with law and order, the Ministry of Plenty which deals in scarcities, and the Ministry of Truth which deals with propoganda. The authorities keep a check on every action, word, gesture, or thought.


George Orwell's satire has been compared with that of Swift, and in Nineteen Eighty-Four the satire is the framework for one of the most moving stories to have been published in this generation - the human story of Winston Smith and his revolt against the Party's rule.

31 faves
Taken sometime in 1965