2012 Regional Juried Biennial Sculpture Exhibition
Exhibition: Regional Biennial Juried Sculpture Exhibition


June 9 to September 22, 2012

The 2012 Regional Biennial Juried Sculpture Exhibition will be held at the Museum from June 9 to September 22, 2012. An opening reception to meet the artists will be held at the Museum on Saturday, June 9 from 1:00 to 3:00 pm.

Joseph Antenucci Becherer was the juror for this year’s biennial. He is the founding Director and Curator of the Sculpture Program at Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park in Grand Rapids, Michigan. He currently serves as Chief Curator and Vice President of Sculpture and Horticulture, Collections and Exhibitions. In addition he is the Lena Meijer Professor in the History of Art atAquinasCollegeteaching courses in Renaissance, Baroque, Modern, and Contemporary art. Becherer’s undergraduate and Master’s work were at Ohio University with a thesis was on Georges Rouault; he continued with the doctoral program at Indiana University, working under Bruce Cole who advised his dissertation on Pietro Perugino and American collecting.

Becherer has authored numerous books, catalogues and articles, and curated many exhibitions. Most recently he has organized exhibitions of Jaume Plensa, Jonathan Borofsky, Jim Dine Andy Goldsworthy, Alexander Calder, Mark di Suvero, Henry Moore, George Segal, Richard Hunt, Auguste Rodin, Magdalena Abakanowicz and Anthony Caro, among others. He is presently preparing a retrospective of Beverly Pepper for aUStour and organizing the premier American exhibitions of Laura Ford and Arne Quinze, respectively.

The prospectus announced that the exhibition was open to all living artists working in sculpture and residing within 200 miles of Saginaw, Michigan, and that the work must be entirely original and completed within the last 5 years.

“We believe it’s important that the Marshall M. Fredericks Sculpture Museum and Saginaw Valley State University support working artists, and hosting a biennial sculpture exhibition is an excellent way to do it,” said Marilyn Wheaton, Museum Director.

The juror awarded four Merit Awards that will be distributed at the June 9th reception: First place $2,500, sponsored by the Doll-Loesel Foundation; second place $1,250, third place $850 and fourth place $400, sponsored by Meijer, Inc. and Maxwell K. Pribil Memorial Fund, administered by CITIZENS BANK Wealth Management. There are also three Honorable Mention awards.
40 photos · 381 views