Georgia Western Cotton Mill - 1950s
Georgia Historic Resource #: DO-D-185
6398 Highway 78
The Georgia Western Cotton Mill was the brainchild of Joseph S. James and is one of the five based on Charles Praray's unique patented mill design. Construction began in 1898, however the mill did not become operational until 1905 when it changed names to the New Century Cotton Mill. Over the years the mill changed owners and names until it became abandoned in 2001. The mill was eligible to be on the National Register of Historical Places in 2000, yet nothing happened and the City of Douglasville denounced the mill's historical status in 2007.
The photo above likely depicts when Glendale Mills was in operation in the 1950s. The unique Praray designed triangular walls and integrated windows are clearly visible. Today the windows are boarded up and the three-story tower and main entrance no longer exists.
Charles Praray designed five mills under his patented "Praray Improve System of Construction." It is believed that this particular mill is one of two mills that still have the Praray walls intact that is left in the United States.