new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
Houses of Parliament, Cape Town, South Africa | by Lemmo2009
Back to group

Houses of Parliament, Cape Town, South Africa

The Houses of Parliament of South Africa are situated in Cape Town. The building consists of three main sections: the original building, completed in 1884, and additions constructed in the 1920s and 1980s. The newer addition currently houses the National Assembly (the lower house of the bicameral Parliament of South Africa), and the original building houses the National Council of Provinces (the upper house of Parliament).


The original parliament building was designed in a Neoclassical style, incorporating features of Cape Dutch architecture. The later additions have been so designed as to blend with the original building. The Houses of Parliament have been declared a National Heritage Site by the South African Heritage Resources Agency (SAHRA) and given grade 1 national heritage status, the highest grade set by SAHRA

19 faves
1 comment
Taken on February 22, 2019