Barrington Cement Works Centralised Kiln Control Room, Taken summer 2018 when it stood abandoned for its last year.
The works initially opened in 1912 by the Dreadnought Cement Company, and was passed down through numerous owners until it was mothballed in October 2008 and decommissioned in 2012.
The works had four kilns over the time with kilns 1 to 3 closing in 1991, the forth kiln remained in use until closure of the whole works.
The works were unique in the Cam valley as it contained a higher grade of Grey Chalk as well as Chalk Marl. The plant was also known for having its own private Standard-Gauge railway on site allowing the use for railway transport for materials compared to that of using more "traditional" dumper trucks.
Info and History from www.cementkilns.co.uk/