new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
County Flag of Greater Manchester | by The Laird of Oldham
Back to photostream

County Flag of Greater Manchester

The County Flag of Greater Manchester, blowing in the wind.


The flag is composed of ten golden castles (arranged in rows of 3-2-3-2) on a red background, fringed by a golden border in the style of a castle battlement.


The ten golden castles represent both the urban landscape of Greater Manchester, and its division in to ten metropolitan districts: Bolton, Bury, Manchester, Oldham, Rochdale, Tameside, Trafford, Salford, Stockport, and Wigan. The red ground represents man-power and the county's red-brick architectural heritage, both legacies of Greater Manchester's industrial past. The embattled border recalls the Roman forts around which the region grew, but also represents the unity and shared future of the county, and its bold, vigilant and forward-looking character.


The blazon is: "Gules, ten Towers three-two-three-two, all within a Bordure embattled Or".

4 faves
Taken on April 1, 2011