Sangjusangen-do was built by Taira Kiyomori for Emperor Go-Shirakawa in 1164. It is owned by Myoho-in and belongs to the Tendai sect of Buddhism. The hondo contains 1001 Kannon statues that are each five feet tall--it is quite a remarkable sight. Of these, 124 are from the original temple, and date back to the 12th century (others date back to the 13th century). There are ten rows; each containing fifty statues. The main Buddha image resides in the middle. Aside from containing the Kannon images it is so famous for, this structure was originally part of Emperor Go-Shirakawa's Hojuji Palace.
One other fascinating thing about Sanjusangen-do is it's length. It was used for a famous archery (kyudo) competition, To-shiya. Japanese bows have a tremendous range, so it is not hard to imagine the long hall being used for that purpose.
Sanjusangen-do. Higashiyama, Kyoto.