2017 Twp. Committee Reorganization Meeting
The Montgomery Township Committee renewed their commitment to continued fiscal responsibility and high quality public service at their reorganization meeting January 5th.

Ed Trzaska was selected among their ranks to serve as mayor this year and Rich Smith was chosen as deputy mayor. The same seasoned team will continue to lead Montgomery with the swearing-in of recently re-elected members Ed Trzaska and Patricia Graham.

The Montgomery mayor and deputy mayor are chosen each year from among the elected Committee by the vote of all five members. Newly chosen mayor Ed Trzaska, was re-elected last fall to serve on Township Committee. He served as mayor in 2012 and 2013 and as deputy mayor in 2014 and 2015. Deputy Mayor Rich Smith, who first entered office in 2012 and who served as mayor in 2014, begins the third year of his current term. Re-elected Committee member Patricia Graham served as mayor last year and as deputy mayor in 2012-13. Committeewoman Christine Madrid and Committeeman Mark Conforti are both in the second year of their terms of office. Ms. Madrid was Montgomery’s mayor in 2015. Each member is elected in staggered fashion to serve for 3 years.

Somerset County Freeholder Mark Caliguire, a former mayor of Montgomery Township, swore newly re-elected member Ed Trzaska into office and Senator Kip Bateman administered the oath of office to re-elected Committee member Patricia Graham.

New Jersey State Assemblyman Jack Ciattarelli administered the mayoral oath of office to Ed Trzaska and NJ Senator Kip Bateman administered the oath of office to Deputy Mayor Rich Smith.
15 photos · 54 views