Clontarf - Bull Island
Clontarf is an affluent coastal suburb on the northside of Dublin.
Boasting a long and rich history dating back many centuries, Clontarf is most famous for the seminal Battle of Clontarf in 1014.
Clontarf is also unique in Ireland for having lost one island and gained an entirely new one all in the space of about 70 years during the nineteenth century.
Clontarf lies on one side of the estuary of one of Dublin's three main rivers, the River Tolka, and the Naniken River reaches the sea at the Raheny end of the district, its mouth marking a civil parish boundary.
One of Dublin's largest parks, St Anne's Park, lies between Clontarf and Raheny.
The Bull Island, also shared with Raheny, is connected to Clontarf by an historic wooden bridge. While most of the island is city property, the (North) Bull Wall and breakwater, related road and path, and Bull (Wooden) Bridge belong to the Dublin Port Company, and are closed for a day each year to assert this.