new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
Krakow - diin | by HeadOvMetal
Back to photostream

Krakow - diin

by Paul Bernard


Bergen-based post-metalers Krakow, releases their 2nd album called “diin” on Dark Essence Records. Since Krakow was founded in 2005 they have evolved from a stonerband to an experimental post-metal band with a unique sound and atmosphere. “diin” was recorded in Duper Studio in Bergen, with producer Iver Sandøy (from Trinacria, Emmerhoff & The Melancholy Babies, Manngard). The songs on the album are heavy, crushing and massive, as well as atmospheric and experimental. Guitarist/vocalist René Misje’s vocal is much more diverse, and creates a new dimension in the band’s sound.


Just before the debut album “Monolith” was released, they embarked on a 7 weeks long tour with Enslaved in 2008, and in 2011 they were on the road with Secrets of the Moon, Kampfar and Vreid. The band has done over 100 live performances till now, and has become a massive live band. Krakow’s line-up is now completed with Ask (Kampfar) on drums. Kerrang said after their recent show in London that “...their short set reveals a band successfully mixing death metal intensity with groovy riffs worthy of Cathedral.”, and gave the following enthusiastic review after the bands show on Southern Discomfort: “Krakow was massive, They poured out stonerpsych with a heavy spirit… the monsoon like sound of Isis meets Hawkwind”.



2nd album from Krakow

The band's line-up is now completed with Ask (Kampfar) on drums

With guest an appearance from Grutle Kjellson (Enslaved)

Krakow have fine-tuned their post-metal sound, and “diin” is experimental and unique in its approach

Recorded at Duper Studio with Iver Sandøy (from Trinacria, Emmerhoff & The Melancholy Babies, Manngard)



1. Hymn To The Winds

2. Future Past

3. Termination Of Origin

4. Mound

5. Mark Of Cain

6. Possessed

7. Into The Distant Sky

8. Omen

9. Sense Of Space


Band website:

0 faves
Taken on April 5, 2009