NASA's TRMM Satellite Sees Hurricane Isaac Drench Louisiana [3D View]

The TRMM satellite twice flew directly above hurricane Isaac as it was starting to pound Louisiana with strong winds and heavy rainfall. The first orbit shown here was on August 28, 2012 at 2212 UTC ( 5:12 PM EDT) and the second time was on August 29, 2012 at 0307 UTC (August 28, 2012 at 10:07 PM CDT). These TRMM passes show that Isaac had only moved a short distance in the 5 hours between the two orbits. An analysis of rainfall from TRMM's Microwave Imager (TMI) and Precipitation Radar (PR) instruments shows that intense bands of rain around Isaac were dropping rain at a rate of over 70 mm/hr (~2.75 inches). TRMM's Precipitation Radar (PR) data were used to show a 3-D view of rainfall within Isaac. A few very powerful thunderstorms near Isaac's eye were reaching heights of almost 17km (~10.6 miles).

 

For full storm history on Isaac, visit NASA's Hurricane page: www.nasa.gov/mission_pages/hurricanes/archives/2012/h2012...

Credit: NASA/SSAI, Hal Pierce

 

NASA image use policy.

 

NASA Goddard Space Flight Center enables NASA’s mission through four scientific endeavors: Earth Science, Heliophysics, Solar System Exploration, and Astrophysics. Goddard plays a leading role in NASA’s accomplishments by contributing compelling scientific knowledge to advance the Agency’s mission.

 

Follow us on Twitter

 

Like us on Facebook

 

Find us on Instagram

15,291 views
8 faves
1 comment
Uploaded on August 29, 2012
  • Show EXIF
This photo is in 1 album

Additional info

  • Viewing this photo Public
  • Safety level of this photo Safe
  • S Search
    Photo navigation
    < > Thumbnail navigation
    Z Zoom
    B Back to context