Hearings' atmosphere
Hopeful new candidate commissioners face Q&A with MEPs

Before the new European Commission can take office, each proposed new Commissioners must pass a tough question and answer session in front of the members of the European Parliament. Each committee questions the person who will possibly become responsible for the dossier, on issues ranging from their CV to political views. If the answers are deemed unsatisfactory, the members can choose to not sign off on the college of proposed commissioners.

In this album we will feature behind the scenes photos from the hearings which will be taking place in Brussels from Monday 29 September until Tuesday 7 October. The President of the European Commission, Jean-Claude Juncker, has already been approved by the members of the European Parliament.

Below a list of the hearings of the candidate commissioners by date, with their nationality and the committees they will be questioned by.

Monday 29/9
Cecilia Malmström (Sweden)
Committee in charge:INTA

Karmenu Vella (Malta)
Committees in charge: ENVI - PECH
Associated committtee: TRAN

Neven Mimica (Croatia)
Committee in charge:DEVE

Günther Oettinger (Germany)
Committees in charge: ITRE - CULT
Associated committees: IMCO - JURI - LIBE

Tuesday 30/9
Carlos Moedas (Portugal)
Committee in charge ITRE

Vytenis Andriukaitis (Lithuania)
Committee in charge: ENVI
Associated committtee: AGRI

Dimitris Avramopoulos (Greece)
Committee in charge: LIBE

Johannes Hahn (Austria)
Committee in charge: AFET
Christos Stylianides (Cyprus)
Committee in charge: DEVE

Maroš Šefčovič (Slovakia)
Committee in charge: TRAN
Associated committee: ITRE

Wednesday 1/10
Corina Crețu (Romania)
Committee in charge: REGI

Marianne Thyssen (Belgium)
Committees in charge: EMPL
Associated committees: CULT - FEMM

Jonathan Hill (UK)
Committee in charge: ECON

Vĕra Jourová (Czech Republic)
Committees in charge: IMCO - JURI -LIBE - FEMM

Tibor Navracsics (Hungary)
Committee in charge: CULT
Associated committee: ITRE

Miguel Arias Cañete
Committee in charge: ITRE - ENVI

Thursday 2/10
Pierre Moscovici (France)
Committee in charge: ECON
Associated committees: IMCO - INTA

Phil Hogan (Ireland)
Committee in charge: AGRI

Elżbieta Bieńkowska (Poland)
Committees in charge: ITRE - IMCO
Associated committees: ENVI - JURI

Kristalina Georgieva (Bulgaria)
Committees in charge: BUDG - CONT - JURI

Margrethe Vestager (Denmark)
Committee in charge: ECON

Monday 6/10
Valdis Dombrovskis (Latvia)
Committees in charge: ECON - EMPL

Alenka Bratušek (Slovenia)
Committee in charge: ITRE - ENVI

Andrus Ansip (Estonia)
Committee in charge: IMCO
Associated committees: ITRE - LIBE

Federica Mogherini (Italy)
Committee in charge: AFET

Tuesday 7/10
Jyrki Katainen (Finland)
Committees in charge: ECON - EMPL - ITRE
Associated committees: TRAN - REGI

Frans Timmermans (Netherlands)
Committee in charge: OCP

Everything you need to follow the hearings: www.elections2014.eu/en/new-commission

These photos are copyright free, but must be credited: © European Union 2014 - European Parliament. (Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs Creative Commons license). If you need high resolution files do not hesitate to contact us. Please do not forget to send the link or a copy of the publication to us: webcom-flickr(AT)europarl.europa.eu
190 photos · 6,523 views