Chatham Islands New Zealand
The Chatham Islands (Moriori: Rekohu, Māori: 'Wharekauri') are an archipelago and New Zealand territory in the Pacific Ocean consisting of about ten islands within a 40 kilometres (25 mi) radius, the largest of which are Chatham Island and Pitt Island. Their name in the indigenous language, Moriori, means Misty Sun. These remote islands, over 800 kilometres (500 mi) east of southern New Zealand, have officially been part of New Zealand since 1842.
The Chathams are the first to see the new dawn of each day.
484 photos · 1,790 views
1 3 4 5