new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
Black Country Living Museum - The Village Centre - H. Emile Doo Chemist & Druggist - inside the chemist's | by ell brown
Back to photostream

Black Country Living Museum - The Village Centre - H. Emile Doo Chemist & Druggist - inside the chemist's

This is the Black Country Living Museum in Dudley, West Midlands.

 

The museum was established in 1975, and the first buildings moved here in 1976. Since then a 26 acre site has been developed, with the unique conditions of living and working in the Black Country from the mid 19th century to early 20th century.

 

It is off Tipton Road in Dudley.

 

This is The Village Centre at the Black Country Living Museum.

 

It has been built on the low ground at the northern end of the museum site which is surrounded on three sides by canals.

 

On the right side is H. Emile Doo Chemist & Druggist.

 

This is a replica of the shop run by Mr Harold Emile Doo in Halesowen Road, Netherton, whose family donated the fixtures and fittings when the shop closed in 1974. The Netherton shop was originally a tailor's, built in 1886, and Mr Doo, whose father James moved into it from his premises on the other side of the road in 1929. He closed one shop at 10 p.m. on Saturday night and reopened for business in the new premises at 9 a.m. on Sunday morning.

 

The shop is a replica of Mr Harold Emile Doo’s shop in Halesowen Road, Netherton.

 

The shop front is original, acquired when the premises were modernised in 1979, as are the fittings and early 1920's stock, donated by the Doo family.

 

It was common in those days for a chemist to make his own remedies and Mr Doo had a considerable reputation locally for his home made medicines and pills.

 

A fascinating range of early twentieth century cosmetics are displayed in the original mahogany cabinets and our demonstrator will explain about the equipment and strange ingredients used by chemists' to treat all sorts of complaints.

 

Inside the chemist's shop.

4,586 views
0 faves
0 comments
Taken on August 14, 2011