Musee des Tapisseries - Palais de l'Archeveche - Aix-en-Provence - plaque
The square off Rue Gaston de Saporta is Place des Martyrs de la Resistance. It leads to the former Archbishops Palace. Now the Tapestry Museum.
This building was the Archbishops Palace in Aix, but now houses tapestries.
The Archbishop's Palace (1650-1730), at the far end of the square is the former residence of the Archbishops of Aix. It is adorned with an elegant Regency door. The International Festival of Lyric Art is held here every July.
The Tapestry Museum, located on the first floor of the Palace in the state apartments, houses a rich collection of tapestries and furniture from the 17th and 18th centuries.
The tapestries were hidden during the French Revolution, and were discovered 50 years later hidden in the roof, discovered during renovation.
Outside is this plaque for the Archbishop's Palace.
Part of the series of plaques from: "Histoire de la Cite d'Aix-en-Provence"