new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white

Dublin: One City, One Book 2006

At Swim-Two-Birds by Flann O'Brien was the chosen book for Dublin: One City, One Book 2006


Flann O'Brien (real name Brian O’Nolan) was born in 1911 in Co. Tyrone. He graduated from UCD and joined the Civil Service. In addition to At Swim-Two-Birds he wrote The Dalkey Archive, The Third Policeman, The Hard Life and The poor Mouth - as well as the Cruiskeen Lawn column in the Irish Times under the pseudonym, Myles Na Gopaleen. He died on April 1st 1966.


About the book


First published in 1939, the same year as Joyce’s Finnegan’s Wake, At Swim-Two-Birds is a modern masterpiece mixing Irish history and Gaelic legend with a profound knowledge of Dublin’s streets, bars and urban grime - creating a hilarious and irreverent cocktail. It pokes fun at the work of O’Brien’s Irish near-contemporaries, among them, WB Yeats, James Joyce and Samuel Beckett.


Dublin: One City, One Book

0 faves
Taken on January 25, 2007