DPB05 Brighton Tramcar circa 1937-39
Actual size = 30mm x 43mm – Released 1st November 2020
This badge released in November 2020 is to mark Brighton Corporation’s electric tramway system, where under the 1900 Act, commenced service on the 25 November 1901 when the first car was ceremonially driven by the mayor John Stafford, the tram service finally ran on the 31st August 1939 arriving at Lewes Road depot in the early hours of 1 September 1939.
This latest and fifth enamel pin badge in our vehicle series depicts an historic vehicle of an F Class Brighton Tram as in service between 1937 and 1939. The design builds on our previous four badges with much more detailed artwork for this unique styling of yet another exclusive and limited edition collectible pin badge.
Our design has taken over a year to perfect through the meticulous study of F Class Brighton Trams by our own in-house artist. Follow AryArt.co.uk for more information on his work. Using drawings and photographs from many publications and images of what were very young in the fleet, numbers 51, 52 and 53 were built by the Corporation and coming to the road in 1937, these reused the same fleet numbers 51-53 as the first trams of those same numbers of the Class B trams back in 1914. The F class were the last open-top trams to enter normal passenger service in this country.