new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
The Parliament of Canada | by Michel_Rathwell
Back to photostream

The Parliament of Canada

The Parliament of Canada (French: Parlement du Canada) is the federal legislature of Canada, seated at Parliament Hill in Ottawa, the national capital. The body consists of the Canadian monarch, represented by a viceroy, the governor general; an upper house: the Senate; and a lower house: the House of Commons. Each element has its own officers and organization. By constitutional convention, the House of Commons is dominant, with the Senate and monarch rarely opposing its will. The Senate reviews legislation from a less partisan standpoint and the monarch or viceroy provides Royal Assent to make bills into law.

0 faves
Taken on August 28, 2010