The Ellisville State School opened in 1921 on land, near Ellisville, donated by Jones County. The facility and it's original farm were located on cut-over timber land and a closed lumber mill site. In fact the first buildings utilized by the facility were the lumber company's former commissary, and several other buildings.
The state of Mississippi did not get around to providing funding for campus buildings until House Bill 1276 was passed in 1928. Over the next several years, six buildings were constructed. They included a school building, kitchen/dining hall, laundry, power house, male dormitory, female dormitory, and a nursery building for younger children.
Today all six buildings remain, but none of them are used for the purposes they were originally intended. The buildings' designs were not replicated in later campus buildings. They are unique and give the campus an interesting appearance.