new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
Sacred Heart Minehead - Stations of the Cross - Station 7 | by David Cronin
Back to photostream

Sacred Heart Minehead - Stations of the Cross - Station 7

Jesus falls the second time.


'The pain of His wounds and the loss of His blood increasing at every step of His way, again His strength fails Him, and Jesus falls to the ground a second time.'


'O Jesus, falling again under the burden of my sins, how often have I grieved Thee. Oh, may I rather die than ever offend Thee again.'


The above is taken from a pre Vatican II order of the Devotion of the Way of the Cross.


The photograph of the seventh Station of the Cross was taken in Sacred Heart church Minehead.


Sacred Heart Church is the Roman Catholic Church in Minehead, Somerset. The parish it serves covers approximately 200 square miles of rural West Somerset.


The foundation stone was laid in 1896 and the high altar and reredos were unveiled and dedicated during a special High Mass in September 1898. The congregation grew, especially during holiday periods, and in 1900 it was decided to add an aisle to the side of the nave. This houses the Lady Chapel.


The church is normally locked but I was able to gain access by arrangement with the parish priest.

0 faves
Taken on January 30, 2012