new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
Nanga Parbat | by NAQOOSH
Back to group

Nanga Parbat

Nanga Parbat


Nanga Parbat (8125m), the world’s ninth highest peak and the second highest of Pakistan’s five 8000m peaks, is the westernmost peak of the Great Himalayan range. Actually 20km long series of peaks and ridges, Nanga Parbat formed a huge massif. Its solitary white appearance, visible from the south for at 100km, prompted its name, which means “naked mountain” in Urdu because some of its slopes are so steep that they are bare of snow or vegetation.


Killer Mountain (Most difficult mountain of the world)


Nanga Parbat also known as “Killer Mountain” because of the difficulties mountaineers has in reaching its summit. Twelve climbers and 18 porters had died there by 1937. The monster was finally conquered in 1953 (one month after ascent of Everest) by a joint Austrian – German expedition; Herman Buhl made the final ascent in a grueling 41 – hours solo ordeal without oxygen. Today’s death score is 47 – far fewer than have lost their lives on Everest.


Access to Nanga Parbat


The Valleys of Raikot, Astore, Rupal and Diamir provide access to the Nanga Parbat’s north, east, south and west faces respectively. The peak’s base camps are Raikot, Rupal and Diamir.


Access to the Rupal is via the Astor Valley and access to the Raikot and Diamir (Via Bunar Gah) are from the Karakoram Highway along the Indus River. These Himalayan valleys receive more rainfall and have more forests than their Karakoram neighbors.


4 faves
Taken on May 23, 2007