Woburn Sands station - as you can see the station house has come back into use recently as a branch of Costa coffee.
Woburn Sands station was opened in 1846 by the Bedford Railway. The station building is grade II listed with a style dictated by the requirements of the 7th Duke of Bedford. Many of the station on the line were sited on his land and so share a similar design.
The station was initially called Woburn but the word 'Sands' was added to the name on 1 February 1860. This is because the area had become synonymous with the extraction of Greensand, a type of sandstone. (The village was previously known as “Hogsty End” but by the Victorian period this name was out of fashion. There is a local story that a schoolmaster was unable to attract business to his "Hogsty End Academy", and therefore came up with a more attractive, picturesque, name for the village!)
From a position of some importance (industry, brick works and supporting sidings had sprung up around the station) the station declined to an unstaffed halt without goods facilities in 1968. Woburn Sands lost its Victorian signal box in 2004 when the line was modernised and control of the signals was transferred to the Marston Vale Signalling Centre at Ridgmont.
The station is currently used by around 40,000 passengers a year and with housing being built behind the station it is hoped these numbers will increase.