new icn messageflickr-free-ic3d pan white
The Main Ingredient | by Thomas Cizauskas
Back to photostream

The Main Ingredient

The Main Ingredient

Shirley Horn (1934-2005): piano, vocals

CD (February 27, 1996)

Label: Polygram Records


▶ Rear cover: here.

▶ Review: here.



1. Blues for Sarge

2. The Look of Love

3. Keepin' Out of Mischief Now

4. The Meaning of the Blues

5. Here's Looking at You!

6. You Go to My Head

7. Fever

8. Come In From the Rain

9. Peel Me a Grape

10. All or Nothing at All



The album features Ms. Horn's then personal trio: Steve Williams on drums, Charles Ables on bass, and Ms. Horn on piano, and singing. And then there's the rest of her lineup: a young Roy Hargrove on trumpet; Washington D.C. stalwarts, bassist Steve Novosel and tenor saxman/U.S.postman Buck Hill; and stars of the jazz firmament, drummers Elvin Jones and Billy Hart, and tenor saxophonist Joe Henderson.



▶ Photo by Yours For Good

▶ For a larger image, type 'L' (without the quotation marks).

— Follow on Twitter: @Cizauskas.

— Follow on Facebook: YoursForGoodFermentables.

— Follow on Instagram: @tcizauskas.

▶ Camera: Olympus Pen E-PL1.

▶ Commercial use requires explicit permission, as per Creative Commons.

0 faves
Taken on December 13, 2016